“Happy are we! Happy are we!”

Moroni 10:18, “..remember every good gift cometh of Christ.”

WOWEE! This week was SO busy and fun! Not being sick and teaching people is the bomb diggity. I would use more dignified language, but I just don’t know how else to explain it, haha. So forgive me.
But before I run you down on all the wonderful people we are teaching and miracles that are happening I just want you to know how happy I am! And that Christ’s hope is the root of my happiness and healing. His gift of performing the Atonement is the best in eternity, and I am so grateful for it.
I love this quote about happiness!
“True Happiness is lived over and over again in memory, always with a renewal of the original good;,,
“Happiness is not akin with levity, nor is it one with light-minded mirth. It springs from the deeper fountains of the soul, and is not infrequently accompanied by tears. Have you never been so happy that you have had to week? I have.”
by James E. Talmage, JesusThe Christ
Living and breathing Christ’s gospel has changed me completely! I thought I was happy before my mission, but the depth of my understanding of the gospel has increased that happiness 10 fold. So please focus on Christ this Christmas season. Because although it is cheesy, ‘HE IS THE REASON FOR THE SEASON!” And the best gift our loving Heavenly Father could give us.
Oh one funny thing before these beautiful North Carollinians, Sister Huang’s British accent is the funniest, greatest thing. She sounds straight up British. Something with combing her Chinese  accent with it.. too good. I wish you could hear it.
Also, we were tracting the other day and I decided to do some bonding and pull out all of these really dumb funny jokes McKann always used to tell. Starting with, ‘Why did Betty fall off the swing? Answer: Because she had no arms.” Every single joke I laughed so hard at the punch line and she was so confused. Since the jokes didn’t make any logical sense she just didn’t think it was funny and was looking at me SO funny. It just made me laugh even harder as the jokes went on and I had to leave a doorstep because I just couldn’t stop laughing.
SO NC PEOPLE:
We were tracting a month ago and a single mom with 2 teenage girls let us right in. Rhonda was the mom’s name and T’layah and Iyana are the daughters names. The first lesson we taught about the Plan of Salvation because Iyana had so many questions about heaven and hell. The next lesson we did some more How To Begin Teaching and found out that Rhonda’s boyfriend was killed 1 year ago in a hit and run and they were all pretty devastated by it. LISTENING is key and I am so grateful we followed what we heard the spirit direct us to teach. I love them and Iyana and T’layah want to be baptized Dec 31st. We are just needing to get Rhonda on the same page.
We have stopped by this investigator named Kecha since I got here in October and she wasn’t ever home or didn’t have time. Finally we set up an appointment with her this last week and I told Sister Huang that if she wasn’t serious about learning and just wanting to do ‘Bible Study’ then we should probably former her so that we can try to find those who are ready. We went into the lesson with a member and were able to answer all of Kecha’s concerns in the first 20 minutes. No we don’t do polygamy or worship Joseph Smith, and a few other things. Then she was telling us that she is ready to commit to learning and coming to church and wants to change her life around. She is excited to be baptized on Dec 31st! Pray for that woman! We want to help her get there!
We met a woman right before Halloween named Tanisha. She had kind of an interesting attitude and talked to us for a bit. We ended up inviting her and her 3 sons to a Halloween party and they never came. On exchange we decided to stop by and check on her. Hermana Garside and I got in and taught her and her whole demeanor had changed. I mentioned this and asked what had changed since we last saw her and she said, “prayer.  I have been doing a whole bunch of it and it has just changed my attitude.” We taught her the Restoration and she already had a Book of Mormon from missionaries years ago and is excited to get baptized and come to church.
Lisa and Paul Gonzalez are awesome investigators and will be having us over for Christmas. They were found in the summer and are hoping to get baptized by the end of the year.
There are others but I am out of time. I am so excited and happy to be here as a missionary for this beautiful season. Miracles are happening and just the season changes peoples hearts.
-Sister Huang and I drew our Zone theme up there
-SUSHI
sam_0753sam_0785
Leave a Reply

