The little things make the BIGGEST difference

Shout out to my beautiful sister McKann and my greatest buddy Brenner for having a birthday today! 16 & 23 never looked so good ūüôā

My friend Gabby (shout out) challenged me to follow every little prompting this last week and I did it and it wrought miracles and increased the spirit in our work. Throughout my mission I have struggled with knowing whether or not something was a prompting or my own thoughts. But with deciding to follow every good thought came a lot of random stops and activities.

Having a prompting to go check on a potential who lived 12 miles away in down town Richlands when short on miles. This resulted to us stopping by a referral that Sister Smedley and I had received when I first got to Jacksonville in the beginning of July who NEVER answered or was home. The home of the referral was on a long road connecting two more popular roads. Their home was about the only house on the 2 mile stretch of road. We passed the home on the road and after a mile down the road I felt like we needed to stop and just check one last time. I turned around and we went and knocked. It was pouring rain and a woman named Britney let us in! Come to find out the Elders had visited her months ago and left her with a pamphlet and her and her husband were ready to take the lessons! We ended up going to see a potential up in Richlands who we had met in July who told us that she lost her husband and daughter. We testified of the Plan of Salvation and the spirit was so strong but she said that she wouldn’t be ready for visitors until at least school started. Her name is Lori and we talked to her outside that night and set up a return appointment for this week.
On Tuesday an investigator who we have been teaching for a few months and who is always there and ready to receive us stood us up. This left us with an hour to contact. We drove down the road and went to this apartment complex I was pretty sure Sister Smedley said they had already tracted right before I got to Jacksonville, but felt we should still do it anyway. We knocked quite a few doors and no one was answering and I was questioning my prompting. But then a lady answered named Antoinett. Her and her husband had just moved in and were looking for a church! Her husband was in the military and wouldn’t be home all week, but we set up an appointment for Thursday. We knocked on her next door neighbor’s door and we met Hailey! An 18-year-old that just moved into the apartment complex two weeks prior. She is moved from California to start a new adventure and start her life and said that she wanted to start going to church! She let us in and we got to know her and teach her and found out that she hasn’t been to church since she was in 3rd grade and that she knew close to nothing about Christ or His Gospel. Also that she used to drink and party, but wanted to change her life because of a near death experience and felt like she needed to work on her spirituality. We set a return appointment for Thursday.
Thursday we went back to teach Antoinett and then Hailey. Antoinett accepted the message of the Restoration and accepted a baptismal date for October 22nd. Her husband wasn’t home, but we are going tonight to teach them both together! We taught Hailey very simply and talked about how baptism was the chance to commit to Heavenly Father that she will follow him and a way to start fresh and have a clean slate. She loved it and accepted a baptismal date for November 5th. Hailey came to the General Women’s session of conference held at the church on Saturday!
A lot of other great things happened this week too, but those were my favorite.
I LOVE CONFERENCE! I AM SO EXCITED FOR IT! I HOPE Y’ALL ARE TOO! I invite y’all to enter the conference weekend like King Benjamin instructs, “.., and open your ears that ye may hear, and your hearts that ye may understand, and your minds that the mysteries of God may be unfolded to your view.” Please watch it. It is such a privilege and blessing that we have a modern day Prophet and Apostles that help us with our current circumstances and challenges!
I testify that this is Heavenly Father’s work. He is at work. He could do this without missionaries, but I have been blessed to be a part of the missionary program and have benefited much from seeing the gospel CHANGE hearts and people. It continues to change mine every day and I am truly a new and changed person from living it. The Atonement is real. It has changed me and I am grateful for it.
I love you!
-Sister Hanseen
 
Moroni 7:13, But¬†behold,¬†that¬†which¬†is¬†of¬†God¬†inviteth¬†and¬†enticeth¬†to¬†do¬†good¬†continually;¬†wherefore,¬†every¬†thing¬†which¬†inviteth¬†and¬†enticeth¬†to¬†do¬†good,¬†and¬†to¬†love¬†God,¬†and¬†to¬†serve¬†him,¬†is¬†inspired¬†of¬†God.”
 
PHOTOS:
-My mamita, Pilar from Ecuador
-Walnut jewelry finished. Made with our investigator Robert.
img_3360img_3367img_3366
Leave a Reply

