Love, Peace, and Bacon Grease! #Hansteenhoekround2

Hi! This week was great! We got transfer news and Sister Steenhoek and I will be staying in Holly Springs woot woot!
We got a few new investigators and were completely lead by the spirit to find them. We decided to kneel and pray before we went out each night after dinner to help us know where the Lord wanted us to be. He put us in the right place at the right time! There were many examples of how much the Lord has His hand in His work this past week but this one impressed my spirit the most. It was toward the end of Saturday night and we were going to finish up our night by stopping by an investigator and again, invite him to church! We were walking toward his apartment when we see a group of 4 teenagers hanging out walking parallel to us but about 15 feet away. Our first reaction was to steer clear, because usually teenagers aren’t very interested and often think missionaries are silly if they aren’t familiar with the Mormon faith. Well, the Lord humbled us and lead us to run right into them. We started talking to them and told them that what we do as missionaries is share a message about Jesus Christ. One of the boys said, ‘Okay. Lets here one.’ So we go on to share Romans 8:16-17, and continue to talk about Christ and who God is! One of the boys said to us, ‘Wow. This is kinda crazy that we ran into you guys because me and him (pointing to his friend) have been confused about the God thing for the last 3  years.’ They all had great insights and questions and we found out that one of them was going through her parents recently divorcing, another his grandmother had passed away a week ago, and the other two were genuinely interested and said they wanted to learn more! They all have grown up as childhood friends and gave us all their numbers and we will try to meet again with them this week! They were so excited! Heavenly Father set it up perfectly. Sister Steenhoek and I are really relying on following the spirit and gaining testimonies that this is HIS work and that we are truly just the instruments in His hands. I feel so blessed to have had that experience!
I just have a quick word to say about peace, love, and the food here. Haha!
LOVE
We talked a lot about love this week and made it a point to focus all of the points of each lesson we teach around God’s love! As we did this, I felt God’s love for not only me but the people we were teaching EVERY TIME. I love love.
ps Is love a feeling or an action? What do you think?
pps I think it’s a feeling that derives from others actions and words toward us. It’d be interesting to see what you think!
ppps I show my love by hugging. If you are feeling down, as a loved one to hug you! Hugs are the best! It’s a fact that it increases a good hormone in your body and makes you happier
PEACE
PMG pg 55, “As we live His gospel He will mercifully forgive our sins. he will heal us and replace guilt and shame with peace and happiness.” I love being out here and truly LIVING the gospel. It has made the greatest impact in the peace that I feel in my every day life! I love Doctrine and Covenants 6:22-23, that says,

22 Verily, verily, say unto you, if you desire furtherwitness, cast your mind upon the night that you cried untome in your heart, that you might know concerning thetruth of these things.

 23 Did not speak peace to your mind concerning thematter? What greater witness can you have than fromGod?

Praying to Heavenly Father ALWAYS brings me peace. Especially as I have been trying to make decisions for myself and the people that we are working with. He will bring peace to our minds. What a beautiful promise!
BACON GREASE
The food here is SO good. One of my favorite places to eat was in Garner and their slogan was, ‘Angie’s. Love Peace and Bacon Grease’. Sister Simpson from Garner invited us to go to her house on a Monday and learn how to make her amazing home made biscuits. Stay tuned.
I love you all so much. I am grateful for you support. I am grateful for your prayers! I am grateful that you are in my life! Everyone on my email list has made an impact in my life, one way or another. Thank you thank you thank you!
Leave a Reply

