INTIMACY & CHARITY

This week was stellar, as always, when you have the spirit with ya! I love being a missionary. I think one of my favorite parts of being a missionary is being able to meet so many different people and go into so many different homes and environments. I feel like my heart has expanded and doubled since I have come on my mission from the love that I have been blessed to feel for these brothers and sisters of mine in North Carolina. I know that it is only through Christ that it is even possible to feel this type of charity. I have always loved connecting with other people, learning their stories, and making them feel heard and loved. My friend Hunter (shout out) told me what his mission president felt was the meaning of life, and I don’t remember the exact words, but it was along the lines of, “to increase our intimacy with other people” I realized that THAT is what my soul has always ‘hungered’ for – intimacy with other people. When I use the word ‘intimate’ I think that we often think of being sexual with someone. And I hate how the world has corrupted the word ‘intimate’. SO I am talking about being intimate on a spiritual level, souls connecting to souls. Well I was reading the Bible and in John it just talks about how intimate the apostles were with Jesus and my heart just yearns for that same intimacy with others and with the Lord. In John it says in 13:23, “Now there was leaning on Jesus’ bosom one of his disciples, whom Jesus loved.” and then in v25 it says, “He then lying on Jesus’ breast saith unto him, Lord, who is it?” I LOVE THAT. A grown man lying on Jesus’ breast, showing his love and intimacy to him by that innocent physical expression. I’ll be honest, it made me cry! Haha. As I have prayed for charity more consistently throughout my day, and to feel that Christ-like love for everyone I interact with, my heart has changed and my soul has been fed. THIS is what life is about. THIS is what we are meant to do. What are the 2 greatest commandments? Love the Lord thy God, and love thy neighbor. I can’t even express in words how grateful I am to have this opportunity to serve our Lord and Savior and for the amount of love I have been able to feel. Granted, I have felt sorrow and heartbreak, but it just makes the joyous times that much more sweet.
I hope y’all can just try to have some more charity in your life. Towards yourself and towards others.
I love you!
2 Nephi 2:25
Sister Hanseen, your red-headed southern bell.
Leave a Reply

