“I rebuke it in the name of Jesus!”

This week was awesome possum my friends! The weather was beautiful and everyone was in good spirits because of it and wanted to talk to us! Woot woot!

We are really making progress here in Holly Springs! This week we taught the Word of Wisdom to some elect investigators and found out that they smoke and drink. At first they questioned us asking if Joseph Smith came up with these ‘new rules’. But after talking it over and baring testimony that Jesus Christ works through His prophets to protect and help the people of today, their whole attitude about it changed. He said that doubts kept arising in his brain but that every time they would he would say, “I rebuke it in the name of Jesus!” It was awesome! He got up and drained all the alcohol in his fridge down the sink, and they both said they would be prayerful and try to quit smoking the next day!
Sometimes I forget how cool and unique the message of the Restoration of the Gospel is! We started teaching an older black southern lady and after teaching the Restoration and talking about prophets we asked her, “What would it mean to you if there was a prophet on the earth today?” And she just looked at us and kinda chuckled and smiled and said, “That would mean a great deal to me.” We ran into a man outside on his porch and started talking to him and teaching the message of the Restoration. After we had explained the basic points of the Restoration we asked what he thought about it and how he felt. He paused and said, “Woah.. I never knew that! That’s pretty amazing!” These simple reactions to this simple,, yet amazing truth, really built my testimony this week!
We had a lot of amazing experiences this week! And I really just love the warm weather, getting to talk and get to know so many different people, and learn more about myself as I try to help, serve and lift others.
I hope that you’ll be able to remember Jesus Christ and His Atonement this week. How blessed are we to have a brother that loved us enough to die for us? I’ll be repeating these words in my head all week,
“Oh, it is wonderful that he should care for me
Enough to die for me!
Oh, it is wonderful, wonderful to me!”
Happy Easter week everyone! Know that I love you!
Leave a Reply

