Start where you are!

I started my stay in Holly Springs this week and John and Phara were baptized!!!! Sister Ostermiller and I drove to Garner on Saturday for the baptism. (which is only like 25 minutes away) I gave a talk on Baptism and in preparing for the talk I came across the scripture Ezekiel 36:26-28. Man I love that scripture! The Lord promises that He will give us a new heart and a new spirit and that He will take away our ‘stony hearts’. I have been blessed to see that with John and Phara. The more they learned of the gospel, the more their heart’s AND spirit’s changed. It was an amazing feeling to see them enter the waters of baptism. Moses Noah called out “DAPHNE!” in the middle of my talk haha. Phara kept mentioning how excited she was for Moses Noah to get baptized when he was 8 and go on a mission when he is older. And the best part was the sweet spirit that accompanied the whole meeting.

At the end of that set of scriptures in Ezekiel it says, “And I will put my spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes, and ye shall keep my judgments, and do them… and ye shall be my people, and I will be your God… “
Which reminded me of Doctrine and Covenants 82:10, “I, the Lord, am bound when ye do what I say; but when ye do not what I say, ye have no promise.”
When we do the things the Lord wants us to do like; following His commandments, refraining from judgement, serving and loving our brothers and sisters, He is bound. He will give us the power to endure any and all of our trials. He will give us all that He has promised, if WE do all that we can.
That may seem a little overwhelming because if you’re like me, you’re looking at yourself and thinking, “Man.. I have a lot that I need improve on and quite a few things that I need to be better at.” Whenever I feel overwhelmed I am quickly reminded that I can start where I am! I want to invite you all to start where you are. Heavenly Father blesses us and is our aid when we are making decisions to become better people. Make little goals to become a little better every day. Do a little more service than you already do. Say hi and smile to an extra person then you normally would. Tell your family and friends that you love and appreciate all that they do for you a little more often.
I want you to know, that He is proud of every good thing that you do! He is proud of our little accomplishments and victories and He wants both you and I to FEEL accomplished, and good and loved. Please know that I love you and care about you. If you ever need a friend, or a comfort or a prayer, I would love to be there for you! But more importantly your Heavenly Father wants to be there for you. He is real!  He sent His Son so that we could be reunited with him, and all of our family again. Jesus Christ knows exactly what you are going through because He has gone through it all. He lives. He loves you.
Holly Springs is the coolest and so is Sister Ostermiller. I have never laughed more in my life! We are the same person. She brings out the REAL me, which is SO goofy, and quirky and weird. I love it. I am having such a good time with her already and we have had a lot of hilarious/awesome experiences this week. I’ll have to tell you some of them next week!
Love you! Have a great week!
ps I will send a picture with John Phara and I next week. I left my camera at home. But here are these which are probably better than with me anyway 😉

Leave a Reply

