Call me Daphne

I love the beginning of a fresh start and a New Year! We can definitely change at any time of the year, but I love the motivation and fire that the New Year can bring. January 1st I wrote down all of the things that I wanted to let go, and burned it up! It felt great. The New Year reminds me of the Atonement! A clean slate. No matter where we have been or what we have done, the Atonement can make us clean when WE decide to cleanse ourselves through faith in Christ. I love the parable of the workers in the vineyard in Matthew 20. The master of the vineyard hired men in the beginning of the day and promised them a penny for the day. The master of the vineyard hired men throughout the day to work in the field and he said, “whatsoever is right I will give you.” It was the 11th hour of the day and the master of the vineyard hired them too. At the end of the day, which was for some only a short time, the master of the Vineyard gave them all a penny. I LOVE THIS PARABLE. Those people went to the vineyard. They took that first step, and showed their faith by even showing up. As they took that step the Lord reached out to them and offered them work.It gives me comfort to know that our Savior will not turn anyone away! He wants us to come unto him, no matter where we have been or what we have done. He will accept us if we choose to accept Him and His Atoning sacrifice for us! I hope that at the beginning of this year we can choose to accept the love that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ so freely give us.
This New Year’s Even I went to bed at around 11pm and felt awesome.(If you are a missionary or have been you would know that I was actually being a rebel because 10:30pm is bed time.) We spent New Years Eve teaching lessons and at an AA meeting. We went to a very intimate AA meeting in a Methodist church to support April because she got her 5 year sober token! I LOVED IT! It was cool to hear everyone’s stories of past New Years Eve experiences and where they are at now. I wouldn’t have wanted to spend it any other way.
We committed our little family we have been teaching to baptism this past week! Phara and John committed to being baptized on January 23rd. They aren’t married and Phara has MS and she drinks coffee often to help with her headaches. We taught them the Law of Chasity and the Word of Wisdom, and were a little nervous about it. But after we were finished explaining those lessons and the blessings that come from living them, they said they would pray about it and Phara agreed right then and there to quite drinking coffee. We went back two days later to follow up and they said that they are wanting to get married before they are baptized on the 23rd! John also told us that he returned the coffee they had just bought from the store and he gave away their newly purchased bottle of red wine as well. They are so prepared! I feel ashamed for even being nervous. I know now that these are God’s commandments and that they will increase the happiness in anyone’s life by living them. Phara and John are going to the court house to get their marriage license today! We will be planning a wedding and a baptism soon 🙂
Their 3-year-old, Moses Noah, loves Scooby Doo and he calls me Daphne because of my red hair haha. Every time we go over there he always says, “Hey Daphne!” We were sitting in front of them at church and during sacrament I was praying and Moses Noah yells, “Hey Daphne! You okay?” I looked back and said yeah and laughed. Then everytime I started to bow my head again he would said, “Hey Daphne! You okay?” It was pretty funny.
I am doing really well! I feel like my conversion to the gospel is growing deeper and deeper. I look back and can see the growth I have made. I look forward and see that I have a long way to go, but am excited to reach my eternal potential. I am learning to let things go, and I am trying to look forward with a perfect brightness of hope this new year! I hope y’all have a blessed week and New Year!
LOVE YOU!
Pictures
-We had a white elephant gift exchange for a Zone Activity and these were some of the  treasures. (Large Speedo muscle man barbie and roller skates)
-My little italian lady Nannette Riggleman
-After the AA meeting New Years Even night! We love April and Sister Riggleman

Leave a Reply

