4 Things to Focus on in The Dark

Hello all my lovely friends and family! How are y’all? I just wanted to express my love and appreciation for all of you SO much. I feel so blessed to have such an amazing group of supporters.

This week I got a new companion! Her name is Sister Peterson and she is from Fairview Utah! She has been out 7 months and she just got transferred from her first area, Fort Bragg, a military base. She said it’s been quite the adjustment coming from a military base to a smaller town. She is so great! We get along so well and just connect on a deeper level.
I want to tell you of a cool little miracle that reminded me of how much the Lord is in the details of everything we do. Remember Jasmine my friend who just had a baby who became our investigator? Well we have been out of contact with her for two weeks, and yesterday we went by with a member in our ward, Sister Bachlottle, to try to see what was going on. After about 4 tries knocking a man came to the door and said that Jasmine wasn’t living there anymore and that she moved to Georgia to be with her boyfriend… Well that was a bummer. But as we were starting to walk out of the apartment complex a woman was carrying a lot of grocery bags so I asked if we could help her carry them in. She hesitated and then started handing me some bags and said, ‘okay.’ We followed her into her apartment and her 12 year old son was in the living room watching something on the TV with his shirt off and she introduced him as Mikey, a full time student, and skateboarder. As we got to know them they both just seemed SO sad. So after introducing what we did and our purpose, I asked if they remember any times in their life where they just felt really happy. Charlotte, the mom, said never. Then paused and said I guess what I gave birth to my kids. Mikey said that he doesn’t think ever. It’s all just kind of neutral. Well, we start talking about how our message can bring people true and lasting happiness. As we went on Sister Bachlotte looked at Mikey and started talking directly to him about how we are all destined for something, and that the Lord had a plan for him specifically, among- other things. Mikey kind of lit up, and so did his mom. In that moment I could see what the gospel would do for them and I could picture them as happy, church going members. It was an amazing experience! We got a return appointment for this week and we are going to start teaching them! Imagine if we hadn’t met Jasmine, or went to see her that day.. We could have never met Charlotte and Mikey.
There were quite a few other miracles this week including a less active we have been working with for months showing up to church and meeting with the bishop! But I wanted to talk about things we need to focus on when we feel like we are in the dark. There are 4 of them, and all are found in 3 Nephi Chapter 9. In Chapter 8 ‘Darkness covers the land for three days–Those who remain bemoan their fate.’ They are in literal darkness when Christ is speaking to the people, and they feel hopeless. This can apply to us today because the world can FEEL dark and we can feel like we are in darkness. Here is what you need to do if you feel this way;
1) Verse 18, “I AM THE LIGHT AND THE LIFE OF THE WORLD. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end.”
-Remember that Christ is the light of the world and through Him we can see light, in WHATEVER circumstance you are in.
2) Verse 14, “Yea, verily I say unto you, if ye will COME UNTO ME, ye shall have eternal life. Behold, mine arm of mercy is extended towards you, and whosever will come, him will I receive; and blessed are those who COME UNTO ME.”
-Turn to Christ. Go unto Him. Learn of Him. Try to be like Him.
3) Verse 22, “Therefore, whoso repenteth and COMETH UNTO ME AS A LITTLE CHILD, him will I receive, for of such is the kingdom of God. Behold, for such I have laid down my life, and have taken it up again; therefore repent and come unto me ye ends of the earth, and be saved.”
-Go unto him as a little child would.
4) Verse 20, “And ye shall OFFER FOR A SACRIFICE UNTO ME A BROKEN HEART AND A CONTRITE SPIRIT…..”
-Pray to Him with real intent. Go unto him with a broken heart and contrite spirit. LET him answer your questions. Soften your heart to the spirit, and let Him heal you.
I don’t have all the answers, but know that if you do these things the Lord can comfort your heart and reassure you that He has got this, that it’ll all work out, just as the spirit has comforted me this week. I trust Heavenly Father, and Christ who is at the head of this church, and the Prophets and Apostles that are his mouthpiece. I love them. I want to do the Lord’s will. Even though I don’t understand, I will trust and defend my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.
The Lord’s and the churches reasoning is always to love and protect, not alienate and condemn. Faith and prayer are always the answers.. Something that one of my favorite people, Carolyn Rummage says, “Sometimes it’s like the wrestle before God that Enos had in order to understand. But then comes the peace.”
I love you all so much! I love my family more than ever and NOTHING will change the unconditional love I have for them. Have an amazing week!
Photo: Maria & Maria Guadalope from our English class thanked us by making us Pozoles, my favorite Mexican dish, for class on Wednesday. My new companion Sister Peterson. Sister Baird is sitting down with Maria’s kids and Maria and Maria, and she helps us with our English class and is the cutest.
IMG_2051
Leave a Reply

