September 28, 2015 Letter

CONGRATULATIONS to McKann and Josh for getting married and sealed this week! I’m so happy for you! And happy birthday to my sweet baby brother Brenner and Mrs. Thomas!

This week was good! It was a lot of adjusting! I got a new companion! Her name is Sister Wilson and she is from Nephi, UT. She has been on her mission only a transfer longer than me so we are ‘senior co-companions’. I’m excited to be working with her! She has a fun, sweet spirit and I feel like our enthusiasm for the work combined will work miracles here in Garner!
This week was a transition week so there was a lot of meeting less actives, meeting the ward, getting to know each other! I love working with less actives! But in a way they are harder to teach than our investigators because they already KNOW everything, they just aren’t living it. I love being in Garner and being on my mission because I have gotten to know so many people that I have just grown to love! We have the opportunity to go into so many houses and see how other people live, I feel blessed. It’s been an awakening for me! I feel so grateful for everything I have! The knowledge, the support and love I have from family and friends, and the decision I have made to LIVE the gospel.
Most of our investigators are slow to progress, which has tested my patience because I just want them to accept what can make them so happy! I know it’s all in the Lord’s timing though. Sister Wilson and I are on a mission to find people to teach this week so it will be a lot of tracting and following up! It should be fun!
I don’t have much time because during this email a lady sitting next to us asked to use our phone. It’s a mission rule that we can’t let others use our phone so I asked if I could call someone for her. Turns out she is supposed to have her baby tonight and needed to check on if the hospital had her scheduled for an induction. So I called for her and it was really busy at the hospital so it took about 10 minutes for us to connect with someone. But afterward I was talking to her about how cool it is that she gets the chance to bring a human into this world! She started telling me how scared and nervous she is because it’s her first baby. I asked her if we could pray with her to help her calm her nerves. So we prayed! We talked for like 10 more minutes and we got her address so we can go see her in a week to see her baby!
My bestie 84-year-old friend Elva Parker shared this poem with me yesterday and I just love it
Stick to your task till it sticks to you;
Beginners are many, but enders are few.
Honor, power, place and praise
Will always come to the one who stays
Stick to your task till it sticks to you;
Bent at it, sweat at it, smile at it too;
Four out of the bend and the sweat and the smile
Will come life’s victories, after awhile.
We’re gonna keep on going here in Garner and hopefully for some more people to teach!
Love y’all!
Pictures: My new District Leader, Elder Mauldin is 6 foot 7

My new companion Sister Wilson and I!
IMG_1874 unnamed (1)
Leave a Reply

